Music To My Ears…

As I said in my last blog post, I love music.  I don’t claim to have exceptional taste, but I get so much joy from music, and live music.  So I wanted to share a few of my favourite artists and songs at the moment…

1) Boyce Avenue.  As I shared in my last post, this is my current favourite band.  The 3 piece from Sarasota Florida, are 3 brothers who found popularity due to their inventive covers, which they have received millions of hits on YouTube for.  They also write and record all of their own original music, with their own record label, and are amazing live!!!

www.boyceavenue.com  

Here is one of my favourite original songs of theirs (On My Way) …

Their cover of Whitney Houston ‘I look to you’, and Taylor Swift’s ‘Last Kiss’ are also amongst some of my favourite covers.  Last Kiss was the song that made me really love Alejandro’s voice.  There are so many great covers and originals!

2) The Civil Wars.  I discovered this duo, fairly recently and I just love them.  I love their voices together, I love their charisma and style.  I used to listen to Joy William’s (the female half) CD all the time, which was a Christian album my mum got us, with beautiful songs.  But I love her even more with John Paul White, and think their music is stunning.  Me and Nisha are going to see them in November and I’m really excited!!

Here is one of my favourite of their songs.  Their whole album ‘Barton Hollow’ is amazing!!  Falling…

3) Ben Howard.  Again, quite a newish discovery.  Me, Nisha and Jamie went to see him a while back, and he was brilliant live.  I love his style, and his music is really original.  For someone as young as he is, I think he has so much potential.  His album ‘Every Kingdom’ is amazing!!

Here is a brilliant version of ‘Only Love’ from Radio 1 Live Lounge…

And here is a cover of Carly Rae Jepson ‘Call Me Maybe’ that I LOVE!

4) John Mayer.  I’m not a massive fan of the man himself- but his music is like chocolate and wine combined…yummy!!  I’m listening to his new album ‘Born and Raised’ at the moment and it is great, although I do prefer his older stuff especially ‘Continuum’.

Here is my favourite- ‘Free Fallin’…

5) Taylor Swift.  I know she is not to everyone’s taste, but her music makes me so happy!!  When I saw her live with my mum and sisters it was so much fun.  I love that she writes all her own music, straight from her heart.  I love that it’s the kind of music I will dance around my room too.

‘Dear John’- allegedly about John Mayer has some awesome lyrics!!  “But I took your matches, before fire could catch me, so don’t look now.  I’m shining like fireworks over your sad empty town”  ‘Hell hath no fury…’

6) Ed Sheeran.  I love Ed’s voice, and again the lyrics and musicality of his songs are brilliant.  I’m going to see him in October and really looking forward to it.  I love his whole album, especially ‘Give Me Love’ ‘Wake Me Up’ and ‘Kiss Me’.

Here is one of his beautiful songs, ‘Small Bump’…

7) Tyler Hilton.  Tyler is an actor and musician.  He starred in ‘One Tree Hill’ one of my favourite programmes.  He recently supported Boyce Avenue on their UK tour.  I love his husky voice.  His album ‘Forget the Storm’ is brilliant.

Here is a cover he did of Lana Del Rey ‘Video Games’ which I adore…

8) Jessie J.  Another amazing UK artist and feisty woman.  Again this is dance around your bedroom music.  She has an incredible voice!!

Here is a version of ‘Domino’ she did for Radio 1 live lounge.  Amazing…

9) The Fray.  I just love how chilled out and beautiful a lot of their music is.  I also love that their lyrics are really meaningful. I love ‘Never Say Never’, ‘You Found Me’ and ‘Look After You’.

One of my favourite songs of theirs is ‘Be Still’…

10) Hillsong Church.  I love worship music of any description.  I love singing in Church or at Christian camps of festivals.  I’m really fortunate to be part of a Church that produces really great worship music.  I used to listen to the Hillsong CD’s years ago, and they are so great.  The latest album is full of incredible songs like ‘Cornerstone’ and ‘Beneath the Waters I Will Rise’.  I have posted on here before one of my favourites- ‘The Father’s Heart’.

Here is a video that was taken at one of Church’s Easter Services.  It’s not a “Worship song” but I love it all the same (the quality isn’t amazing).   ‘We All Need Saving’…

Some other artists I also love are-

Adele, Michael Buble, One Direction (happy music), Ron Pope (beautiful singer), Beyonce (her latest album 4 is brilliant- especially ‘I was here’), Jimmy Needham (a brilliant Christian singer songwriter), Benjamin Francis Leftwich (a great acoustic singer), One Republic, Justin Timberlake, Joshua Radin, The Fray and many many more…

Here are some final videos of songs I just love…

Demi Lovato ‘Skyscraper’.  Again I’m not a massive fan of hers, but this song is brilliant…

Bruno Mars ‘Today My Life Begins’…

And finally, my absolute favourite song of the moment.  Stunning music and lyrics by Jonas Myrin…a battle cry song that I have on constant repeat at the moment…

I hope you enjoyed some or all of these.  If you have any suggestions of lovely music, please do share.  I always love discovering new artists.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

