What I learnt from Harry Potter…

This may seem like a very random blog post.   My housemate Ineke and I recently watched all the ‘Harry Potter’ films.  Now I am not a true fan, and haven’t read any of the books, but with each film I was moved, enraged, and inspired.  Overall, there is the basic battle of good against evil.  But within the characters, plots, and drama there was a great deal of truth!

As we were watching, I chronicled a few amazing quotes, and I want to share them and my thoughts on them.  Most of them are from Dumbledore, a clearly wise man.   So here goes…

  • Harry Potter 1 (Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone)

“It does not do to dwell on dreams, and forget to live”  – Dumbledore.

This quote really spoke to me because for Christians or not, and especially at my time of life, there can be so much focus on the “What if’s…. ”

What if I do or don’t get married, what if I can’t find the right job, what if I was different, more confident, prettier, richer, what if, what if…

I often day dream about how my life could be.  The things I would love to happen.  About how my life would be if things were different, if I had different relationships, more money, if I could meet the man of my dreams, or explore the world etc.

God given dreams are amazing!  God puts dreams in our hearts to give us hope, and help us look to Him and the future.  I know God has spoken to me in so many different ways about the plans that He has for my life, and things He wants to do through me.  And these I focus on.  But it’s so dangerous when these dreams, or future plans take over our every day thoughts and action, and we forget to embrace each day and the opportunities it holds- the lives we can bless, the experiences we can have and the ways we can live for God, day to day.

“Many Christians are satisfied with their destination but neglect the journey.” AW Tozer

What Dreams has God given you? Do you ever dwell on your dreams and forget to live each day?

  • Harry Potter 3 (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban) – I know I skipped one-  you will see why

“Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one simply remembers to turn on the lights.”  Dumbledore.

I just love this quote!!  It is so true for Christian life especially, that even in the darkest times; hope, happiness, and goodness can be found if we look towards the Light.  In a world where darkness can seem to overshadow everything, I like so many Christians cling on to the truth can darkness can NEVER cast out light.  Light always wins.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that.  Hate cannot drive out hate- only love can do that.”  Martin Luther King Jr
Isaiah 9:2 The people who walk in darkness will see a great light. For those who live in a land of deep darkness, a light will shine”
John 8:12 Jesus spoke to the people once more and said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”
John 1:15 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.

What examples of light and happiness do you have in your life?  When have you seen the light cast out the dark?

  • Harry Potter 2 (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets)

“It is not our abilities that show who we truly are, but our choices”  – Dumbledore.

  • Harry Potter 4 (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

“Dark & difficult times lie ahead, soon we must choose between what is right and what is easy.”  – Dumbledore.

  • Harry Potter 5 (Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix)

“We’ve all got light & darkness within us- what matters most is the path you choose to walk on- that’s who you really are.” – Dumbledore

These 3 quotes are all incredible and speak of the same thing- choices.  The choice between good and evil, right and wrong; that really defines who you are.

As Christian’s we are taught about the gifts God has given us, and yet ultimately, it is not these gifts but our characters, our integrity and what we choose to do withour gifts that truely defines us.  This is what we will carry into eternity.

“Vision without action is only a dream.  Action without vision is a nightmare. Vision with action changes the world.”

As a Christian, the choices I make are often extremely difficult.  We are asked to live counter culturally.  We are asked to do what seems like the opposite of the norm.  We are asked to be ‘holy’ ‘righteous’ ‘loving’ and ‘forgiving’ when the world can often want the opposite.

We all have light within us, yet we shine God’s light most brightly when we choose to do what is right- to fight for the oppressed, to look after the lonely, to befriend the outcasts…
Proverbs 4:18 The way of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, which shines ever brighter until the full light of day.

Being a Christian is not meant to be easy.  Jesus made that clear from the beginning when he said ‘take up your cross and follow me’.  It wasn’t a play on words.  It was a call to live a life willing to sacrifice for what matters most.

“Look, I am sending you out as sheep among wolves, so be as shrewd as snakes and as harmless as doves” Matt 10v16

“You will stand trial before governors and kings because you are my followers.  But this will be your opportunity to tell the rulers and other unbelievers about me” Matt 10v18

But don’t be afraid of those who threaten you.  For the time is coming when everything that is covered will be revealed, and all that is secret will be made known to all.  What I tell you now in the darkness, shout abroad when daybreak comes.  What I whisper in your ear, shout from the housetops for all to hear!  Don’t be afraid of those who want to kill your body; they cannot touch your soul…”  Matt 10v26-28

“If you cling to your life you will lose it; but if you give up your life for Me, you will find it”  Matt 10v38.

Life is about living for Jesus regardless of the cost.  I pray that even in the most dark or difficult times, that my choices will show who I am, but more importantly who my God is.  Who my King is!…

Do your choices show what or who you are living for?  Are you willing to choose the right, rather thank the easy path?  What choices do you find most difficult?  What do you think is most important?

  • Harry Potter 6 (Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince)

“Being me has its privileges” – Dumbledore

Now this is not the most inspirational quote, but again for people of my age it is vital.  Loving yourself, recognising your worth, your greatness and all the gifts and talents God has given you can be really hard- especially for women.  I pray so often that my friends, family, and people in my life will know just how amazing, wonderful, beautiful, precious and loved they are.  Not in a boastful or proud way; but because they are daughters or sons of the Most High God, and that gives them a value that no one should ever underestimate.

“Whatever I am now; it is all because God poured out His special favour on me” 1 Cor 15v10

Do you know how God sees you?  Do you know how incredibly precious you are?  What stops you from knowing the privileges of what it is to be you?

  • Harry Potter 7a (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1)

“What a beautiful place to be with friends”– Dobby

This quote is from an incredibly moving scene where Dobby the house elf dies whilst in the hands of his friend Harry.  It reminds me again of what invaluable importance friends have in your life.  In good times or bad, with friends that are near or far.   I honestly don’t know where I would be without the friends that have helped me along, picked me up, told me to get a grip, cried with me, laughed with me, prayed with me, and lived life with me.

9Two people are better off than one, for they can help each other succeed. 10 If one person falls, the other can reach out and help. But someone who falls alone is in real trouble… 12 A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken. Ecclesiastes 4.

I thank God for the wonderful friends and family He has given me, who with Him make me stronger.

What friends are you grateful for today?  Who makes your life that little bit easier to live?  Thank God for good friends!

  • Harry Potter 7b (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2)

“It is the quality of one’s convictions that determines success, not the number of followers!” Remus

In a world of Facebook, Twitter and Youtube people can get so caught up in the amount of ‘friends’ they have, the number of followers,  the amount of people subscribed to them, or how many people  are in their phonebook.  And it’s understandable.  We all do it.  We all want lots of friends, lots of support, popularity and sometimes fame.

In this scene in the final film however, when they are preparing for battle against Voldermort and are vastly outnumbered, we are reminded that it’s not always about the number of followers.  It’s about who you are, what you are fighting for, and most importantly who is one your side!!  As Christians, we may feel like we are in a losing battle sometimes.  There can appear to be hardly any other Christians in the world, and the battles we face can appear so unachievable.   The darkness can seem so vast, the sadness too great, the evil too much.

But, if Harry Potter has taught me anything, if life has taught me anything, if Jesus and the Bible have taught me anything- it’s that it’s not about having the most followers, or the biggest army.  It’s not about being the most powerful or most popular- it’s about being on the right side.  It’s about being on the winning side.  The side that fights for good over evil, and the side that you know will conquer.

I know that my God is good.  I know that despite all the darkness His light will win out.  I know that no matter how hard it gets, or how few followers He has, or how unpopular He may seem, that being on His side is best.   I know that because Jesus loves me and you so much,and he conquered death!! He rose again and because of this we can have eternal life.  He has won the war already for us!!

What battles do you face today? Do you feel outnumbered?  What convictions are you clinging on to?  Remember- God is on your side.  And no matter how hard the battles may be- in the end He wins.  I thank God for his victory today!!

Leave a Reply

