What Is Love? <3

 

“Doubt thou the stars are fire; Doubt that the sun doth move; Doubt truth to be a liar; But never doubt I love.” Hamlet Act II Scene II

 

I love this quote!  I heard it the other day whilst watching a mushy chick flick and it got me thinking – What is love?

There are so many images of love in our society; shown in films, novels, famous couples, couples celebrating their golden wedding anniversaries, modern day heroes who sacrifice themselves for others.  And then there are so many examples of a severe lack of love.

I see so many examples of love in my day to day life; from my friends bringing me flowers and treats when I’m ill, my sister telling me she misses me, my Compassion sponsored child sending me a beautiful letter, hearing from an old friend, or listening to an incredible love song.

Sometimes experiences of love are far more profound- Being part of a best friend’s wedding.   Holding your baby sister when she is 1 day old.  Having your sponsored child ask you to pray for his family.   Crying with your friend when they are having a terrible time.  Seeing a child at kids club laughing when normally introverted.  Being told you are loved, beautiful and precious.

And sometime experiences of love are life changing – Being able to worship at a best friend’s wedding.  Watching your baby sister seek Jesus.  Seeing 80,000 Children sponsored through Compassion UK.  Praying passionately with your friend who is having a terrible time.  Hearing a child at kids club saying they believe they are loved by God despite their circumstances.  Knowing you are loved because you are taken into someone’s home and cared for, knowing you are beautiful because they still say it when you are stood crying in a changing rooms feeling hideous, and knowing you are precious because you are shown it every day in so many ways.

 

“There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.” John 15:13. 

For me, I never know love exists more truly than when I experience 1st hand the Love of God, and the love that flows from His people.

I believed in love truly the first time I realised just how much God loves me!!  As much as I see good examples of love, I would really struggle to believe in TRUE LOVE without the love that God has for me and the rest of the world.  Our little examples of love are mere reflections of the intense, overwhelming, everlasting love that God has for us!!

 

What are your experiences of love?  Do you believe in ‘True Love’?  How do you know you are loved?  What is love?

 

I will end with a verse a friend gave to me.  A promise of love from God to his people long ago, and a promise of love from God to me for today and the days to come…

“I have loved you with an everlasting LOVE, I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.  I will build you up again”  Jeremiah 31:3

 

 

Lovely gifts from friends
A letter from my sponsored child Julio
My Sisters Wedding
LOVE
My crazy Family
Worshipping at my friends wedding
Leave a Reply

